How does the Tracker App's "Easy Mode", "Tracker Safety" and "Dog Safety" work?

Quick answer:



How to enable or disable "Easy mode"


- Open the Tracker application
- In the map view, tap the button in the lower left corner or swipe from the left side of the screen to the center of the map
- The left side menu of the application opens
- Scroll to the end of that menu and tap "Settings"

- From menu that opens, tap "Display"

- The very first item on menu that opens after this, is "Easy mode"

- Tap the slider next to it if you would like to enable / disable "Easy mode"


When "Easy mode" is enabled -> then only the basic functions required for position updates and tracking are available
You cannot accidentally go and change the GPS device's settings or passwords etc.

We recommend that new users keep "Easy Mode" turned on



How to enable or disable "Tracker Safety"


- Open the Tracker application
- In the map view, tap the button in the lower left corner or swipe from the left side of the screen to the center of the map
- The left side menu of the application opens
- Scroll to the end of that menu and tap "Settings"

- Tap the slider on "Tracker Safety" to green (enabled) or gray (disabled)


By switching "Tracker Safety" on, you enable other Tracker-, Ultracom- or B-bark users within 2km to follow you and you will be able to see their position on map. Your own position is displayed anonymously and the same applies to other users who have "Tracker Safety" on. You simply see an icon on the map with a text "Person" (No other information available or visible)



How to enable or disable "Dog Safety"


- Open the Tracker application
- In the map view, tap the button in the lower right corner or swipe from the left side of the screen to the center of the map
- The application's "Targets" -menu opens
- Tap the dog's name (not the icon, but the name)
- The selected dog's own settings menu opens
- Tap "Show in Safety" (tap the slider to green)
- You can also tap to "Safety Note" that appears next to dog's icon that is shown anonymously on the map, along with the "Safety Note" attached to it e.g. "Catch a dog!"


When "Dog Safety" is on, those hunters using Tracker App with "Tracker Safety" activated will anonymously see on their map, within a 2km radius, the icons of all dogs for which the owner of that Tracker GPS device has selected the "Dog Safety" feature to be active.



More information:



The "Tracker Safety" feature does not require a paid license with the Tracker Live service, but the Tracker application on your phone must have an Internet connection, otherwise your own position cannot be shared and your own application cannot retrieve the location of others using the "Tracker Safety" feature on your own map



In case if Tracker App has problems in its internet connection


Follow these instructions to check the App's Internet connection
(skip instructions on these guides that are related to Tracker Live -service)


iOS - What should I do if the Tracker Live service doesn't work? 

Android - What should I do if the Tracker Live service doesn't work? 



Likewise, the Tracker App must be able to calculate the user's own position in order to transmit it to others who are using "Tracker Safety"


If your own position is not calculated or displayed correctly


Here, in these following instructions, are listed things to check in case if your own position is not calculated correctly (or not at all) or is not shown on map:
(skip instructions on these guides that are related to Tracker Live -service)


iOS - Why my own position is not shown on map or not updated at selected frequency? 

Android - Why my own position is not shown on map or not updated at selected frequency?


You can also contact Tracker Support or send us a Support request if you encounter some unexpected problems or error messages etc. so that we can give you more detailed instructions